First Night of the Hunger Games!

The first thing I thought about after escaping the mass killing at the cornucopia was where I was going to spend the night. In a rush to stay hidden, I slipped under the nearest canopy of damp leaves and found myself in a small cave. Opening my new backpack, I picked out the first thing that fell into my sweaty, shaky hands; a sleeping bag. From watching previous hunger games, I learned that it was meant for sleeping in the trees, but decided that I would stay in the cave for the night and save the bag for another day; that is if I make it to see another day.

The second I heard the leaves crunching outside of the cave, I violently threw myself against the cold rock and pulled my backpack with me to try and hide from the wandering tribute. Over and over, he sang to himself, assuring that he would kill and see blood in the next hour. My breathing was in fast, small breaths, as I couldn’t get a full one out without whining in nervousness. Once the voice got softer and farther away, I relaxed a bit, but quietly assured myself that that was the last time I would be as scared as I just was. I continued rummaging through my bag until I found a small blanket and some nuts. Using my hands as a pillow, I layed down and closed my eyes, trying to convince myself that I would be home soon enough.  Four cannons sounded, and I winced at the noise. Peeking my head out of the cave for just a second, I saw the face of an innocent, poor, young boy in the cloudless sky. As I closed my eyes on the hard ground, I heard the faint noise of a camera focusing, and automatically knew that I was being broadcasted on live television. I felt one warm tear roll down my face, and into my mouth. I had to toughen up to win, and I had to do it fast.

3 thoughts on “First Night of the Hunger Games!

  1. The blog was very good. I think you could have added a bit more sensory details in the first paragraph. besides that the blog was very god and I liked the part about the wandering tribute.

  2. Over all, I really liked your post. There was a mistake where you didn’t capitalize the Hunger Games, but I think that was it. You had lots of sensory detail after the other tribute approached, and I just wished that you had described your shelter more. I really liked your ending sentence “I had to toughen up to win, and I had to do it fast.” because I feel like it gives opportunity for character growth in future posts. One thing about your opening sentence is that it feels like you were announcing what you were going to do. A more descriptive sentence would really grab the reader’s attention.

  3. I really liked your post. You had a lot of detail when the other tribute came, but it it lacked a little when it came to describing your shelter. Otherwise that it was very good.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *